Universal Design for Learning

Universal Design for Learning (UDL) is an educational framework based on research in the learning sciences, including cognitive neuroscience, that guides the development of flexible learning environments that can accommodate individual learning differences.[1]

Recognizing that the way individuals learn can be unique, the UDL framework, first defined by David H. Rose, Ed.D. of the Harvard Graduate School of Education and the Center for Applied Special Technology (CAST) in the 1990s,[2] calls for creating curriculum from the outset that provides:

  • Multiple means of representation to give learners various ways of acquiring information and knowledge,
  • Multiple means of expression to provide learners alternatives for demonstrating what they know, and
  • Multiple means of engagement to tap into learners’ interests, challenge them appropriately, and motivate them to learn.

Principles & Guidelines of UDL:

  • Principle 1: Provide multiple means of representation
    • Guideline 1: Provide options for perceptions
    • Guideline 2: Provide options for language, mathematical expressions and symbols
    • Guideline 3: Provide options for comprehension
  • Principle 2: Multiple means of Action & Expression
    • Guideline 4: Provide option for physical action
    • Guideline 5: Provide options for Action and communication
    • Guideline 6: Provide options for Executive function
  • Principle 3: Multiple means of engagement
    • Guideline 7: Provide options for recruting interests
    • Guideline 8: Provide options for sustainable efforts and persistance
    • Guideline 9: Provide options for self-regulation


About UDL by CAST: http://www.cast.org/our-work/about-udl.html#.XHJcGyBS9ZV

National center on UDL: https://medium.com/udl-center

Examples: http://www.readingrockets.org/article/5-examples-universal-design-learning-classroom